Remarks by Margaret Lee, Alanna Heiss, and Brian O’Doherty.

Tickets begin at $120 and include a seated dinner, cocktails, and a performance.

We’re pleased to announce artist and writer Brian O’Doherty as honoree for Triple Canopy’s fall benefit, which will take place Wednesday, October 30. Please join the editors of Triple Canopy, our Board of Directors, and Publishers Circle members for a seated dinner, cocktails, and a performance in honor of O’Doherty’s extraordinary life and work. O’Doherty will be introduced by MoMA PS1, Clocktower Gallery, and ArtOnAir founder Alanna Heiss, and artist-gallerist Margaret Lee will make brief remarks; a performance by artist and composer C. Spencer Yeh will follow. Artist Virginia Overton has created a limited-edition artwork for the occasion.

Brian O’Doherty (b. 1928, Ireland) has had a remarkable and multifaceted career as artist, critic, novelist, and more. After working as a medical doctor and researcher in the UK, O’Doherty relocated to the US, where he hosted two network television shows on art; held posts as critic for the New York Times and editor of Art in America; edited and designed the groundbreaking “conceptual issue” of the multimedia magazine-in-a-box Aspen, a touchstone for Triple Canopy; authored the seminal essay series Inside the White Cube; and, as a director for the NEA visual arts and media programs, helped make Soho a magnet for artists, coining the term “alternative space” and championing early video art. From 1972 to 2008, he worked as an artist under the pseudonym Patrick Ireland. To date, he has mounted over forty solo exhibitions including a recent retrospective at NYU’s Grey Art Gallery (2007). O’Doherty is the author of several novels, including The Deposition of Father McGreevy (2000), which earned him a nomination for the Booker Prize. P! and Simone Subal Gallery will open a joint solo exhibition of O’Doherty’s work in March 2014. Read more about O’Doherty’s extraordinary life and accomplishments »

Benefit Committee
Honorary Committee
Alanna Heiss, Rosalind Krauss, Martha Wilson

Patron Committee
Eileen Cohen, Wendy Goldberg, Selig D. Sacks

Support Committee
Cory Arcangel, Eleanor Cayre, Christo, Lisa Cooley, James Fuentes, Gabrielle Giattino, Bridget Goodbody, David Kiehl, Prem Krishnamurthy, Rhiannon Kubicka, Katy Lederer, Brett Littman, Frieze magazine, Gregory R. Miller, Mitchell-Innes & Nash, Fraser D. Mooney, Simon Preston, Charles Renfro, Nicole Russo, Simone Subal, Gretchen Wagner, Christian Wassmann, Jeffrey Weiss

Event Committee
Courtney Willis Blair, Phong Bui & Nathlie Provosty, Cathleen Chaffee, Kim Conaty, Jessica Lin Cox & Kamrooz Aram, Constance DeJong, Sarah Demeuse, Derek Eller, Sean Elwood, Michelle Finocchi, Rivka Galchen, Alex Gartenfeld & Matt Keegan, Taymour Grahne, Joanne Greenbaum, Carol Greene & Craig Kalpakjian, Regan Lin Grusy, Janice Guy, Michael Hainey, Dave Harper & Ryan MacFarland, Larissa Harris, Pati Hertling, Andrea Hill, Sarah Hromack, Heather Hubbs, Lisa Ivorian-Jones, Matthew Day Jackson, Vladimir & Betsy Jelisavcic, Timo Kappeller, Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, Julia Klein, Michelle Kuo, Knight Landesman, Kris Latocha, Sofia LeWitt, Barbara London, Andrea Lounibos & Schiff Fine Art, Laurence Lowe, Kathleen Madden, Chus Martínez, Joseph Masheck, Barbara & Howard Morse, Liz Mulholland, Paula Naughton, Molly Nesbit, Oliver Newton & Margaret Lee, Cory Nomura, Lindsay Pollock, Jonathan & Denise Rabinowitz, Carolyn Ramo, Katie Rashid, Ben Regenspan, Christine Russell, Jeanette Sanger, Joseph S. Scanlan, Kate Shepherd, Galia Solomonoff, Mari Spirito, Team Gallery, David Teiger, Lynne Tillman, Samantha Tsao, Jasmin Tsou, Carrie Elston Tunick, Rachel Uffner, Allison Weisberg, Cliff & Dolores Wharton, Karen Wilkin, Helene Winer, Ben Wizner, Christine Zehner (list in formation)

Levels of support:

Individual ticket: $120
• Individual seating for dinner and cocktails

Pair of two tickets: $225
• Seating for two guests with dinner and cocktails
• Name recognition on the Event Committee list, in print and online

Supporters table: $1,200
• Seating for ten guests with dinner and cocktails
• Name recognition on the Support Committee list, in print and online
• Complimentary Triple Canopy membership (value $120)

Patrons table: $2,500
• Premier seating for ten guests with dinner and cocktails
• Name recognition on the Patron Committee list, in print and online
• Special artwork edition by Virginia Overton made for this occasion
• Half-page greeting in the event program
• Complimentary Triple Canopy membership (value $120)

Honoree’s table: $5,000
• Premium seating for ten guests with dinner and cocktails
• Name recognition on the Honorary Committee list, in print and online
• Special artwork edition by Virginia Overton made for this occasion
• Full-page greeting in the event program
• Complimentary Triple Canopy membership (value $120)

Unable to attend? Consider a tax-deductible contribution.

For more information, write to or call (347) 529-5182.

With generous support from:



Virginia Overton is an artist based in Brooklyn. She is known for installations that place scavenged materials and those common to the manual trades into site-responsive configurations. She has presented solo exhibitions of her work at Kunsthalle Bern (2013); Mitchell-Innes & Nash (2013); The Kitchen, New York (2012); The Power Station, Dallas (2012); Freymond-Guth, Zurich (2011); and Dispatch, New York (2010). Her work is currently on view at the Westfälischer Kunsteverein, Munster, Germany.

C. Spencer Yeh is a musician and artist born in Taipei, Taiwan, and now living in Brooklyn. Yeh has performed and presented work in a variety of venues and exhibition spaces, including the New Museum, New York; the Contemporary Art Center, Cincinnati; Issue Project Room, Brooklyn; White Flag Projects, St. Louis; Sónar; Frieze Music; and All Tomorrow's Parties. He has collaborated on musical and artistic projects with Nate Wooley, Okkyung Lee, Justin Lieberman, Tony Conrad, and New Humans with Vito Acconci.