A Benefit for Triple Canopy, Honoring Maggie Nelson

7:00–9:30 p.m. Jing Fong
20 Elizabeth Street
New York, New York

Photo of Maggie Nelson by Tom Atwood.

We’re thrilled to announce that Maggie Nelson will be the honoree at Triple Canopy’s fall benefit, which will take place on November 7, 2018. Our editors and Board of Directors kindly invite you to join us for cocktails, a seated dinner, dancing, and various celebrations of Nelson’s extraordinary work (as well as Triple Canopy’s tenth anniversary).

Miguel Gutierrez will present a new performance. Artists Liz Deschenes, Keltie Ferris, Caitlin Keogh, Kia LaBeija, Troy Michie, R. H. Quaytman, and others, will create artworks for the occasion. The evening concludes with an after party.

Maggie Nelson’s writing defies classification. Her work reflects and addresses all the complexities and pleasures of life, and often fuses criticism, memoir, scholarship, and poetry. In a profile for the New Yorker, Hilton Als describes Nelson as “the poet who writes prose; the memoirist who considers the truth specious; the essayist whose books amount to a kind of fairy tale, in which the protagonist goes from darkness to light.”

Nelson’s many books include Jane: A Murder (Soft Skull Press, 2005), The Red Parts (Free Press, 2007), Women, the New York School, and Other True Abstractions (University of Iowa Press, 2007), and Bluets (Wave Books, 2009), and The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (W.W. Norton, 2011), which explores the role of violence in art through such varied figures as Sylvia Plath, Francis Bacon, and Yoko Ono. Her most recent book is The Argonauts (Graywolf, 2015), an essay on desire, sexuality, and (queer) family making that was named a New York Times Notable Book and earned Nelson the National Book Critics Circle Award for criticism. Nelson has written for numerous publications, including Artforum, Bookforum, and 4Columns, as well as for catalogues on the work of Matthew Barney and Carolee Schneemann, among other artists.

Nelson is the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship (2010), a Creative Capital Literature Fellowship (2012), and a MacArthur Fellowship (2016). She is a professor of English at the University of Southern California and lives in Los Angeles.

Honorary Committee

Hilton Als, Negar Azimi, Matthew Barney, Carrie Brownstein, Barbara Gladstone, Kim Gordon, P.J. Mark, Fred Moten, Eileen Myles, Jenna Wortham

Benefit Committee

Eileen Cohen* & Michael Cohen, Barbara Gladstone, Steven Goldglit*, Alex Logsdail*, Pace Gallery

Marianne Boesky, Regan L. Grusy* & Anders Bergstrom, Hauser & Wirth, Katy Lederer & Ben Statz, Chris Leong*, Brent Sikkema, Margaret Sundell, Janklow & Nesbit

David Deitcher, Marian Goodman, Jane Hait, Josh Kline*, Sage Mehta & Michael Robinson, Andrea Rosen, Begum Yasar*, Lucas Zwirner

The Criterion Collection, Tom Cugliani, Gabriella De Ferrari, Lisa Dent*, Alexandra Economou*, Malik Gaines*, Gabrielle Giattino*, Adam Katz & Julia Sherman, Stephanie LaCava & Bryan Weiss, Brett Littman, Cory Nomura, Loring Randolph, Kerri Scharlin, Rebecca Siegel, Mimi Thompson, Wong Kit Yi, Donn Zaretsky*

Henry Alcalay, Ian Alteveer & Stephen Figge, Augusto Arbizo, Artforum, Yona Backer, Thalassa Balanis, Rachael Bedard, Andrew Black, Sarah Blakley-Cartwright, Gregg Bordowitz, Nicole Bray, Katherine Chan, Anne Collier, Alexander Ferrando, Richard Flood, Keith Fox, James Fuentes, Rivka Galchen & Joseph O’Neill, Jeanne Gerrity, Claudia Gould, Mackie Healy & Alex Glauber, Alanna Heiss, Andrea Hill, Hermione Hoby, Laura Hoffman, David Joselit & Steve Incontro, Jennifer Joy, Bronwyn Keenan, Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, Janet Kraynak & Stefano Basilico, Tatiana Kronberg, Barney Kulok, Carin Kuoni, Galerie Lelong & Co., Paul Leong, Joseph Logan, Suzanne Lopez, Barbara London, Isaac Lyles, Gregory R. Miller* & Michael Wiener, Roger Mooney & Donald Steele, Liz Mulholland, Lisa Naftolin, Ethan Nosowsky, Mathieu Paris, Elizabeth Peyton, Nancy Portnoy, Mary Ping, Steve Pulimood, Charles Renfro, Allison Rodman, Nicole Russo, Susan Sellers, Arlene Shechet, Kate Shepherd*, Alice Gray Stites, Lucy Tang, Kara Walker, Jane Weinstock & James Welling, Allison Weisberg & Peter Barker-Huelster, Paige West, Karen Wong

List in formation. Asterisk indicates current member of Triple Canopy’s Board of Directors.

Unable to attend? Consider making a tax-deductible contribution.

With additional support from: